top of page

TAS Election at May Meeting

The election of Tampa Audubon officers and board members will be at the May 4 Membership Meeting. Most of our officers and board members are in the middle of their two-year terms, and not up for election this year.

Three board members, Doug DeNeve, Mic McCarty and Jim Hengelbrok, agreed to run for one-year terms in 2022 after the TAS Bylaws were amended to provide for staggered board terms. They are now running for two-year terms.

The Nominating Committee is pleased to announce our slate of candidates for the following positions:

Officer Position

Vice President (1 year): Jessica Parrish. Jessica joined the Board of Directors in June 2021. Originally from Michigan, she obtained a B.S. in Biology at Grand Valley State University. Jessica has worked directly with Piping Plovers in Cape Cod and Golden‐Cheeked Warblers in Texas. Jessica joined TAS and volunteered to serve on the Board of Directors leading our tabling/membership drives at local festivals, fundraising, and Audubon's accessibility project, Birdability. Jessica is up for election to fill the last year of Tammy Lyons’ two-year term.

Board Positions (2-year terms):

• Doug DeNeve. Doug joined the Board of Directors in 2018 and served as the Conservation Committee Chair from 2016 to 2021. He is involved in many chapter activities, including his continued work on the Conservation Committee, helping us to be informed and to take stands on important local environmental issues.

• Mic McCarty. Mic joined TAS in 2013 and has served on the Board of Directors for several years. He has been the main organizer and frequent leader of our TAS field trips for several years. He is a former military pilot, and is currently a middle school teacher. In addition to birding, leading field trips and taking great photos with Tampa Audubon, Mic is active with Schultz Preserve bird surveys, Christmas Bird Counts, Nest Watch and more.

• Jim Hengelbrok. Jim has been on the Board since 2021. He helped with the TAS Bylaws amendments in 2021-22, and has worked on the Nominating Committee for the past two years. Jim recently led his first TAS field trip, providing proof that almost anyone can lead a field trip.

• Jonathan Hoiles. Jonathan succeeded Joel Jackson as our Photo Club Chair in 2022. After retiring from the Navy, Jonathan moved to Tampa. Learning about Florida's imperiled and migratory birds inspired him to learn more about wildlife conservation photography. His mission is to help people connect with and appreciate the natural world, with the belief that greater understanding leads to deeper caring, encouraging decisions and behavior that benefit habitat and wildlife conservation. Jonathan is a new candidate for the Board, and is up for election to a two-year term.

Board Position (1-year term):

• Logan Lane has been a member of Tampa Audubon since 2015. He was born and raised in Tampa, where he resides. He attended Furman University and Stetson University College of Law. Logan works as in-house counsel for a financial services firm. Logan is a new candidate for the Board. He is up for election to fill the last year of the two-year term from which Megan Campbell recently resigned.

Recent Posts

See All

Sightings - Chinsgut

Chinsegut Wildlife and Environmental Area – Big Pine Tract Photo and story by Mic McCarty On March 20, Mary Keith led a field trip to the Big Pine Tract of the Chinsegut Wildlife and Environmental Are


bottom of page